With the mod API is it even possible to create a new feature such as multi-topics & DLC?

I am a coder, and I’ve been enjoying Game Dev Tycoon for a long time, and have recently wanted to start creating mods that I see many people wanting but noone implementing. Though things such as multi-topics (and this being a REAL feature… not just creating new topics with names such as Sci-Fi/Shooter, etc.), and DLC (which would work sort of the same way as MMO expansions except with regular games) would be the only reason I would get into modding this game, and before I waste my time looking into the API, I want to know: is it even strong enough to support addition of such features?

1 Like

Hello DeathRight, and welcome to the GHG forums :smiley:

The API itself is very limited, and can only add topics, researches, platforms, and events. However, since the game is written in HTML/CSS/JavaScript, you can add custom elements, override in-game functions, and much more without needing to use the API.

These links will probably help you (actually copypasta from a similar topic):

You will need to study the source code a bit, either by beautifying the obfuscated “codeNw.js” file in the “compressed” directory of Game Dev Tycoon, or by requesting the unobfuscated source.

Some mods also use a library called UltimateLib, which has some custom visuals and simple functions that make modding easier.

Finally, there is a HTML file in the main folder, defaultbrowser.html, and some CSS files in the css folder. They’re all unobfuscated, so you can start from there when adding custom elements. (Such as another “pick topic” button.)

2 Likes

Thank you for the welcome and the information. I will start reading the tutorials and studying codeNw.js right away, and hopefully will have mods out soon!

2 Likes