The Pirate, The Game and The South African Game regulations

About two years ago I had pirated the game, GameDevTycoon. I thought nothing about it. I enjoyed the game and then moved on with my life. Not even thinking about the developers of the game. I also knew nothing about Steam at that time. It was really just scum in general.
Then, on twitter about a few months ago. I came across a tweet by Greenheart Games praising Software Inc, I game I had bought. And I, well didn’t think before I commented because I bragged about pirating Greenheart Games’ Game Dev Tycooon. And even explained how that piracy notification I got around. Using igg-games.
And then where there is action, there is a reaction. And of course because I bragged about it on their own twitter page.
They had tweeted about it and, well there was a backlash to my tweet. Which really got me thinking about piracy and game developers. I am a developer myself. Python, occasionally C# and Web Dev. And piracy is a really big issue in the industry. It affects everyone. The game developers, the people who buy the games hell even economies. And I moved on.
Yesterday I thought about it again. And then decided that I should buy the game out of the respect of the game developers. Now, i search it on steam and. Well, it isn’t on steam. Weird I thought, then I searched it up and saw that it was something about the South African Games Regulations or something with licensing fees and checks. Which is totally understandable.
But then I realized, would I rather just buy it directly so that Greenheart gets that money? And then I went onto their website, went on to the purchase site and directly bought GameDevTycoon from the developers.
Pirating games is a scum thing to do. It’s looked at with a frown most of the time, and I think that is agreeable that it should be looked at with a frown.
Don’t pirate games, support the game developer and wherever you can. Provide donations if you have to. If you enjoy what they are doing.